Mickey Leland Humanitarian Achievement Award

Award Description

Established in 1992 in memory of the late Congressman from Texas, the Mickey Leland Humanitarian Achievement Award is NAMIC’s highest honor. In commemoration of Congressman Leland’s lifelong advocacy of social justice and equality, the award recognizes individuals and companies representing the media, entertainment, and communications industry for their philanthropic achievements and commitment to advancing the concerns of people of color.

2023 Mickey Leland Recipient

José Díaz-Balart
Anchor of MSNBC’s “José Díaz Balart Reports,” “NBC Nightly News Saturday,” and Noticias Telemundo

  • Submission Deadline: Friday, June 14, 2024
  • Recipient Announcement: July 2024
  • Recipient of the Mickey Leland Humanitarian Achievement Award will be recognized during the Annual Awards Luncheon at the 38th Annual NAMIC Conference, October 22-23, 2024.

The commitment for selected recipient includes:

  • Attending the Awards Luncheon to personally accept the award
  • Delivering an acceptance speech (5 to 10 minutes long)
  • Participating in photo opportunities with the executive leadership of NAMIC
  • Providing existing tribute footage produced internally by participating company for playback during the awards luncheon ceremony

In an essay of 500 words or less, please tell us about your candidate and why the individual is worthy of the Mickey Leland Humanitarian Achievement Award:

  • Background on his/her philanthropic accomplishments
  • What causes has s/he supported? This may include charitable giving, volunteerism, or other humanitarian achievements.
  • Is s/he a champion of social change?


  • 2022 – Juju Chang, Co-Anchor, “Nightline,” ABC News
  • 2020 – U.S. Rep. John Lewis
  • 2019 – Cathy Hughes, Founder & Chairwoman, URBAN ONE, Inc.
  • 2018 – Debra Lee, Chairman & CEO, Emeritus, BET Networks
  • 2017 – Katrina Adams, Chairman and President, United States Tennis Association (USTA)
  • 2016 – Maria Elena Salinas, Co-Anchor, Noticiero Univision, Univision
  • 2015 – Stuart Scott, ESPN SportsCenter anchor (honored posthumously)
  • 2014 – Paula Madison, former diversity executive, NBCUniversal
  • 2012 – Marc Morial, CEO, National Urban League
  • 2011 – Ana Maria Polo, Host, Caso Cerrado, Telemundo
  • 2010 – MTV Networks
  • 2009 – Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Chief Medical Correspondent, CNN
  • 2008 – Charlayne Hunter-Gault, award-winning journalist and author
  • 2007 – Anderson Cooper, Anchor, CNN
  • 2006 – Soledad O’Brien, Anchor, CNN
  • 2005 – Robert L. Johnson, BET Networks